Make an appointment Request a quote
Allen Tire Company YouTube Twitter Facebook Allen Tire Company
1-888-330-2134

Kelly Tires Navigator Touring Gold Reviews

Go back to product details Add your review for this product Continue Searching
|< << < [1] 2 > >> >|

Good dry, ok wet, so so snow

1990 Subaru Legacy 04/10/2014
11:29 am

Alrighty I live in Portland Oregon as many know it rains a ton here 8 to 9 mths outta the year and Portland roads are terrible pot holes, ruts, uneven cracks, steel plates, man hole covers, ect ect... I also ski and Mtn bike 3 to 4 times a week year round on mt hood and drive a ton of gravel and logging roads. Ok so here's the break down, first I drive a Subaru wagon key 3 words all wheel drive. It's a 1990 oldie but goodie:) wet roads: the rubber compound is pretty hard compared to most high end performance tires and touring tires are for mellow driving and touring or cruising. With that said if u have all wheel drive u can push these tires pretty hard in the corners but be prepared for drifting on any kind of rough pavement. Also 1st rain after dry spell u really gotta watch it cause the extra grease that floats up will send u into the ditch if your trying to Mario Andretti the corners. Snow performance: I don't recommend these for snow at all. I just swap to my studded tires. Only because when snow turns to ice which it will at some point in time u may as well pull over and park cause there's 0 traction in ice without studded tires or chains duh! Lol yes I have owned studless blizzacks and they still have 0 traction on steep inclines on ice. If u live in Mtn areas studs are the only safe option for u and your family. Dry conditions: this all depends on tempatures. The hotter the better the traction colder the worse cause all rubber firms up in cold and softens in heat. That said I'd give them a 6 to 7 in high speed corning. In braking about the same. Straight line tracking and noise same 6 or 7 outta 10. Dirt roads, mud and rocks: I do a ton of off roading. Overall ride is rougher because the rubber compound is harder then performance tires. But this has been a great positive on sharp rocky tough roads. 2 summers and winters and no flats yet. And the dirt roads I drive are steep and rough. As for mud its similar to ice. These are clearly street or dry dirt tires. So if u plunge off into the brush be prepared to be towed out of have a winch. I'm a fair weather outdoorsman so I try to stay clear of mud. I wouldn't suggest these tires in sand or silty dirt either. Although I have been very impressed with these tires in the dirt because the side walls and tread seem extra tough hince no flats and I drive like a rally car racer when I hit the dirt:) I'd suggest if u off road these tires sell them at 50% wear to avoid flats and get some money back for your next purchase. Overall these rate in the Oregon outdoorsman handbook 7 outta 10 touring tire. A great 60000 mile or more tire if u rotate properly and just cruise around the pavement. Great bang for your buck! Thumbs up!

--
Jay








Navigator Kelly Tires

2007 Chevrolet Uplander 12/10/2013
10:33 am

In summer of 2011, I purchased 4 new tires. I agree they are not good on snow. Worst tires I have ever had. I live in Manitoba where we have snow and ice. Now I need another set.

--
Joyce








Worst tires ever

2008 Kia Rondo 12/10/2013
10:56 am

I will not recomend these tires to anyone

--
Valerio








Excellent

2001 Buick Regal LS 12/10/2013
11:02 am

Superb wearability. 215/70R15s far superior to the Tiger Paws replaced. Tiger Paws were basically gone in 50K (that's kilometers here in Canada). Navigators show no noticeable wear in 30K. Were noisier just after 1st rotation but has gotten quieter. VG handling dry or wet; excellent traction in snow & recently was caught in a sudden deluge; felt solid on wet pavement @ 115kph. Comfort good but that's more the suspension's job; these seem to work well in any condition. We are forced to drive some REALLY BAD roads here in Saskatchewan; I am very impressed w/ the Kelly Navigator Touring Gold.








Ok tire

2004 Honda Accord 12/10/2013
11:02 am

Tires ride smooth and quiet. They handle good on dry pavement but traction is horrible on wet roads. You have to slow way down when roads are wet because these tires become dangerous compared to the Michelins I had on the car before. They are wearing good after 40,000+ miles.

--
John








Noisy!

2011 Subaru Forester 08/07/2013
10:55 am

These are the noisiest tires I have ever had, hands down. After enduring 20K miles of ever increasing noise, paying a wasted $100 for tire balancing, and shouting to have my passengers hear me, I'm getting rid of these terrible things.

--
Mark








Wonderful Tires, Great In Snow

2001 Honda Accord EX V6 04/11/2014
12:35 pm

Above all, these tires are a great Winter Tire substitute. I must emphasize how good these all-season tires perform in snow; all conditions. Where I live we have real winter, Alberta, Canada. I agree with most everything else people have said about them... a quiet comfortable ride and good handling. And, they look great on the car. To me this tire is alone in its class.

--
George








Kelly Navigator Touring Gold Tire

2003 Ford Focus SE sedan 04/11/2014
12:29 pm

I recently purchased 4 Kelly Navigator Touring Gold H rated tires for my 2003 Ford Focus SE sedan and found that the tires perform well in dry, wet and light snow road conditions. The tires give a much quieter, smoother, and more comfortable ride than the Traction TA H rated tires they replaced (the Traction TA tire is no longer H rated). The Navigator Gold tires changed the feel of the Focus from a sport sedan into more of a touring sedan in terms of handling - which is what one could expect in moving from a performance all-season tire to a touring all-season tire. If you are an aggressive driver stick with the performance tires they will offer a tighter handling feel, for normal highway cruising the Navigator is welcome change. Before purchasing any tire, research the difference in tire construction between a T, and H rated tire - it will be helpful information.

--
Kevin








NOT FOR SNOW

1999 Honda ACCORD 04/11/2014
12:23 pm

Very smooth ride on dry pavement.. No complaints ... BUT.... if you live in an area that receives any amount of snowfall do yourself a favor and don't waste your money they grip less than the bald tires I replaced them with - will not recommend nor will I buy Kelly again

--
Kay








Kelly touring gold

1992 Ford Mustang 04/11/2014
11:45 am

Excellent tire. gobs of traction off the line. Bit of side wall roll but otherswise a great tire. Good bang for the buck.

--
Dave








|< << < [1] 2 > >> >|